similarly, looking at the most commonly challenged books

Standard

According to Wikipedia.

I’ve read twenty of the titles on this list and been exposed of even more than that.  Thirteen of them were read for school; two of them are books I have a deep personal attachment to (The Handmaid’s Tale because I love Margaret Atwood, The Perks of Being a Wallflower because it was my absolute favorite book from the time I was in junior high).  I’m pretty sure that every book I have read that’s on this list has impacted my life a little bit, if for no other reason than giving me a greater insight into cultural references.

I can’t imagine not having access to these books.  I shudder to imagine it, really.  I think that’s an important part of being a librarian: the struggle against banning books.  If I wind up working in an area of librarianship that relates to these texts (and even if I don’t) I will work my hardest to speak out about this situation.  I owe it to the community I end up serving and the community of readers at large.

Leave a Reply

